BREAKING NEWS:

It appears necessary to write this. All content contained within this blog is the sole property of Cali MJ Fan, unless otherwise Sourced as another's proprietary work. Copyright 2009-2011. All Rights Reserved. You are free to link, share and repost with content in full, as it appears, and must include a link back to this blog. Thank you for that courtesy. Much L.O.V.E., Cali

Thursday, October 14, 2010

International Save Japan Dolphins Day TODAY

Tuesday, October 12, 2010
What: October 14th: International Save Japan Dolphins Day
A worldwide peaceful and lawful protest of the annual dolphin slaughter in Japan, as depicted in the Academy Award winning documentary The Cove and the Animal Planet series Blood Dolphins. The Japanese government issues 23,000 permits annually to coastal communities to kill dolphins of several species. A few are sold, at great profit, to aquariums and swim-with-dolphins programs around the world. The captive dolphin industry subsidizes the slaughter. The majority of the pod is then slaughtered for meat. But the meat is contaminated with outrageous amounts of mercury and other pollutants, exceeding the Japanese government’s own health limits. This is a human rights issue as much as an animal welfare issue.


Demonstrations will be going on throughout the world in front of Japanese embassies and consulates on October 14th. Please join your fellow environmentalists and animal activists in protesting the hunts and urging Japan to switch to more sustainable and benign methods of profit, such as eco-tourism and dolphin-watching cruises.

When: Thursday, October 14th, Noon to 2 PM.

Where: In front of Embassies and Consulates of the Government of Japan around the world. Below is a list of cities where events are planned along with contact information. If you don’t see your city, start your own event! Contact Shelby Proie, Shelby@savelolita.com, for more information.

If you can’t attend, please consider calling. Here is a list of all Embassies and Consulates with phone numbers:  http://www.mofa.go.jp/about/emb_cons/mofaserv.html

Participating Cities and nonprofit organizations:

UNITED STATES:
Anchorage
Margaret -maggiekvet2b@aol.com

Atlanta
David Drolet-http://rescuedolphins.wordpress.com/ rescuedolphins@comcast.net

Boston
Lisa Yee, pagan_kitty05@yahoo.com
(NOTE: Boston *edit* had an alternate Japan Dolphin Day rally on 10/7 sponsored by WDCS, WSPA, CSI, and MARC from 12-2PM in front of the Japanese consulate)

Chicago:
Allie Presas, alpresas@sbcglobal.net ; Cynthia Perez, kivrosdalai@yahoo.com
Detroit
jylforsyth@gmail.com
Denver:
Animal Rights Action Network and Emily Wolf
Contact: ann@animalrightsactionnetwork.org , newfylove@yahoo.com
Honolulu
Courtney Vail, courtney.vail@wdcs.org
Wild Dolphin Foundation: keikibeachbungalows@gmail.com

Houston
Houston Animal Rights Team (H.A.R.T.), vegan world radio
Contacts: Kara, amandalouisepetrie@gmail.com , port.ashley0@gmail.com

Los Angeles
Contact: Julia Ramsey, ramseyjulia@gmail.com

Miami:
Save Japan Dolphins and Oceanic Defense
Mary Jo Rice, mjrice@earthisland.org

New York City
NY4Whales
Contact: tlwilliams@optonline.net

San Diego
Daniela, danielaj_94@yahoo.com

San Francisco:
Earth Island Institute, In Defense of Animals, Orca Network,
Contact: Mary Jo Rice, mjrice@earthisland.org

Seattle:
SaveJapanDolphins, EcoElements
Contact: orcaspirits@msn.com

Philadelphia
Kevin Starbard, kstarbard@earthlink.net

Portland
Rae Wilson-raemarie.wilson@comcast.net

Tempe, AZ
Rockstar Rescue; For The Whale Of It
Contact: jamezblonde@gmail.com
Washington DC:
Animal Welfare Institute and Humane Society of the United States/Humane Society International
CONTACT

CANADA:
Calgary
Joanne Clarke joanne.clarke@gmail.com
Ottawa
Ottawa Animal Defense League
Contact: Sue Manns, ottawaanimaldefenseleague@hotmail.com
Toronto
Ocean Activists United
Contact: Sarah Patrick, little-fizzle@hotmail.com
Vancouver
tammara443777@hotmail.com
EUROPE:
Barcelona, Spain
Coordinadora Proyecto Cetaceo Libre
Contact: Diana Morales, dmorales@hgt.es

Berlin, Germany
Tom Hernan, Elisa Brongers
hernan@gmx.de

Croatia:
Ocean Activists United - Zagreb Chapter
Mariana – Prijatelji zivotinja
mariana@prijatelji-zivotinja.hr

Edinburgh, Scotland
lucas@ruzowitzky.dk

London, England
Marine Connection and Karen Page, karen.4page@ntlworld.com

Libson, Portugal
Natalie & Nori in conjunction with: http://www.chickswithsticks.org.uk/ , http://www.s4cglobal.org/ , http://www.beasonefoundation.org/ , http://www.soulsurfers.org/
Contact: natalievfox@hotmail.com

Paris, France
Vivamar Society-Ljubljana and Slovenija
vivamar.society@gmail.com
aurore.d.f@free.fr

Rome, Italy
Ente Nazionale Protezione Animali

Rotterdam, Netherlands
EDEV – Een DIER Een VRIEND, elisa.brongers@edev.nl
Stockholm, Sweden
Izabelle Maelan, izabelle_91@hotmail.com
Vienna, Austria
“Resistance for Peace” and Angelique Hackl
office@resistanceforpeace.org  and angelique.hackl@gmx.at
MIDDLE EAST:
Israel
SaveJapanDolphins.ru
Jacob Berelman, jacob@savejapandolphins.ru


ASIA PACIFIC:
Taiji, Japan
Save Japan Dolphins
Leilani Munter, leilani@leilanimunter.com

Auckland, New Zealand
Joshua Walker-Joshuawalker@timelesshost.com

Bangkok, Thailand
http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=156971054323777
dolphindaydemo@gmail.com

Brisbane, Australia
Robyn Price mokie485@optusnet.com.au

Christchurch, New Zealand
Aaron Nolan, az.nolan@windowslive.com

Canberra, Australia
Karin Klaus, karinklaus@hotmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/#!/event.php?eid=132020196847829

Hong Kong, China
Jess Chan, jesstychan@gmail.com

Indonesia
Femke, jakartaanimalaid@gmail.com

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Dave, russellbanfield@sbcglobal.net

Melbourne, Australia
Haans Silver, hsiver72@bigpond.com

Perth, Australia
Melinda Reilly, melindareilly@iprimus.com.au
Philippines
Trixie (EII)-, eiiphils@gmail.com

Sydney, Australia
Naomi Wong, creamriceking@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=123220707732441

Wellington, New Zealand
Jarna Hamilton, j_arna@hotmail.com

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN:

Argentina
Wild Earth Foundation

Bahamas
EARTHCARE
sam@reearth.org
Mexico City
SophreEarth-ie Cortina-sophiecortina@mac.com
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jorge Perez and Aliança International do Animal ”AILA”-jorge@g3turismo.com.br  and amadu10@terra.com.br
AFRICA:
Cape Town, South Africa
Bahia Fitchen- bahiafitchen@yahoo.com
Nigeria, Africa
Nigeria SPCA (Emmanuel Eyoh), nigveganimal@yahoo.com

Source  SaveJapanDolphins.org

No comments:

Post a Comment